The Britain Times

Truth prevails Raise voice

Stayers’ Hurdle: Remembering the last five winners

Stayers’ Hurdle: Remembering the last five winners

Nestled within the illustrious Cheltenham Festival, the Paddy Power Stayers’ Hurdle stands as a beacon of tradition and grandeur.

Each year, this formidable test of endurance and ability mesmerises spectators, immortalising the names of champions in racing history.

As the excitement mounts for the upcoming Festival, let us journey through the tales of the last five Stayers’ Hurdle victors — revisiting huge upsets, massive wins, and the making of legends. 

2018: Penhill

In a blaze of glory, Penhill emerged as the unexpected hero of the 2018 Stayers’ Hurdle.

Defying the horse racing betting odds at 12/1, the Willie Mullins-trained gelding surged ahead with breathtaking speed — leaving rivals in his wake.

With a commanding lead of two lengths, Penhill showcased the essence of champions — etching his name into Stayers’ Hurdle folklore for eternity.

It also marked back-to-back wins in the day three feature for Mullins, as Nichols Canyon landed him his maiden Stayers’ Hurdle win in 2017.

2019: Paisley Park

The following year witnessed a coronation of a fan favourite at Prestbury Park as Paisley Park seized victory in emphatic fashion.

At the short price of 11/8, the Emma Lavelle-trained stayer unleashed a dominant performance — leaving competitors trailing behind by two and three-quarters lengths.

With a display of sheer dominance, Paisley Park established himself as a formidable force in the realm of this testing division.

2020: Lisnagar Oscar

In a tale of improbable triumph, Lisnagar Oscar’s victory in 2020 is one of underdog glory in the Stayers’ Hurdle. 

Against staggering odds of 50/1, Rebecca Curtis’ star defied expectations with a display of courage and class — prevailing by two lengths in a race for the ages.

Lisnagar Oscar’s victory marked one of the biggest upsets in the Stayers’ Hurdle’s rich history.

2021 & 2022: Flooring Porter

The following two years saw Flooring Porter dominate this prestigious stayers’ contest, as Gavin Cromwell’s thoroughbred became the first horse to win the race back-to-back since four-time champion Big Buck’s.

Flooring Porter’s first win in 2021 was from outside odds of 12/1, and the commanding victory also marked the first Cheltenham Festival win for trainer Cromwell.  

A lot of pressure was on Flooring Porter to follow up 12 months later, and he returned to Prestbury Park to retain his title from 4/1 — securing his legacy a as true hero in the Stayers’ Hurdle. 

Despite being tested over fences so far this season, Flooring Porter could yet be reverted to the smaller obstacles in a bid to land the hat-trick. 

2023: Sire Du Berlais

The latest winner of the Stayers’ Hurdle, Sire Du Berlais’ victory at the 2023 Cheltenham Festival is another story of underdog success. 

In a thrilling upset, the Gordon Elliott-trained veteran was priced at 33/1 but clinched victory — narrowly beating Dashel Drasher by a slender margin in a cracking finish. 

At 11 years of age, Sire Du Berlais is the joint-second oldest winner of the Stayers’ Hurdle, while his victory marked a fourth win for owner JP McManus. 

“I thought he deserved to take his chance,” the Irish billionaire said afterward.

“I’ve not had too many 33-1 winners but old Creon [50-1 in the 2004 Pertemps Final] won at a big price and Kadoun [at the same price in the 2006 Pertemps] but this one, I’m afraid, went unbacked, but still we will just enjoy it just the same.”

Disclaimer: Content is for informational purposes only. Gambling may lead to addiction and financial loss. Play responsibly. Seek help if needed. Not an endorsement of gambling.

For more news click

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *